Vote Shirin Brown

Waiheke’s sustainable future

About Me

Background

I was born in Iran – my mother is Indian and my father is British. I grew up in Europe (France and Belgium mostly) and studied philosopy and psychology at Durham University in the North of England.

I then became an English language teacher, then teacher trainer, and director of teacher training in various countries including Spain, The Czech Republic, Japan, India, Australia and Fiji.   Along the way I received a Diploma in English as a Foreign Language Teaching,  a Masters in Educational Management and worked for the British Council.

I came to New Zealand in 2000 and spent my first two years here working as Director of Teacher Training for Auckland Language Centre, while living in Devonport.   I was responsible for teacher development and delivery of CELTA courses.  I have also worked at AIS ST Helens teaching intercultural communication, teacher development, and facilitation skills.

In 2002 we moved to Waiheke and both my children were born here.  When the kids were small it was hard for me to keep working and commuting,  so I went back to university and studied part-time for a Masters of Film and Television at the University of Auckland as I’ve always been interested in film.

Now

I lecture part-time in film theory and project/story development for film, game and animation in the school of Art and Design at AUT.

I was elected to the Waiheke Local Board at the last election and was Deputy Chair until December 2014.

Creatively
I do standup with the Waiheke Comedy Group, mostly focusing on local issues, work, politics and being a parent.

When time and life allow, I write and direct plays, make films  and try to bring out the comedy in drama.

I helped host Island Life on Waiheke Radio for around three years.

 

 

My children on The Flying Carpet

My children on The Flying Carpet

Shirin at work

Shirin at work

Premiering my short film, Plan B, at the Heart of Gold Festival in Gympie, Queensland

Premiering my short film, Plan B, at the Heart of Gold Festival in Gympie, Queensland